Imaging: Learning Units

Imaging Learning Units

1. Vision and Digital Imaging

We learn about visual perception and the digital encoding of reflected light.

2. Imaging Standards Overview

We learn about the state of international imaging standards and guidelines.

3. Physical Care & Handling

We learn about handling materials safely and discuss some myths about light exposure.

4. Imaging Technology Options

We learn about the fundamentals of scanners, viewing conditions, and lighting.

5. Imaging Workflow

We consider imaging procedures and the ethics of producing archival quality images.

6. System Performance

We explore assessing imaging system capabilities using standardized test charts.

7. Bits and Bitmaps

We learn about specifying and measuring resolution and bit depth.

8. Tone Response

We learn about assessing image tone/exposure and white balance/neutrality.

9. Color Accuracy

We introduce the fundamentals of visible color spaces and color encoding accuracy.

10. Image File Formats

We learn about the TIFF and JPEG2000 file formats.

11. Image Processing

We explore ethics and techniques for normalizing master images and producing derivatives.

12. Image Metadata Standards

We learn to document the technical features of digital images.

13. Costs and Outsourcing

We learn how to estimate imaging costs and work with third-party vendors.

14. Future of Digital Imaging

We consider the technical trends that are changing digital imaging.